Whispers Of Conviction

There is an unspoken calling when you have a blog: to bring truth and light, to spread your beliefs and lessons out around you in hopes that people will sit down with you to listen and learn. And there is a special beauty when someone says "Hey, here is my truth, can you put it out there for me?" So here it is, an anonymous blessing I've had the pleasure of watching unfold.

Everything below this is written by an anonymous author wise beyond their years.

Through the past years I have struggled with that humiliating twinge in your gut that comes with being innocent. It’s uncomfortable. There’s an awkward balance to juggle between staying ‘blameless and innocent children of God’ and being the Christian who knows and sympathizes with people’s struggles. How can I understand what people are going through when I don’t know what the heck they’re talking about? Frankly, it’s embarrassing.

I’ve grown up with serious parameters around television and movies. Arthur was a ‘no no’ and, well, the Miley attitudes on Disney Channel didn’t quite strike my parents the right way. There were rules, and I understood the rules and respected them. But because I didn’t hang around those people who were gonna give me worldly knowledge, where did I go to get that but through TV?

Once I hit a certain age, I could watch what I wanted. It gave me freedom, but it also gave me the knowledge and ‘maturity’ I craved. [Side note—> innocence does not equal immaturity…but that’s a completely different topic] I didn’t want the ‘innocent’, ‘goody two shoes’ label, so I got my fill by binge watching Netflix. This is not to say that I abandoned all rules and standards, but I did let them slide at times and this made me more and more comfortable with worldly ideas, words, and casual sex.

I’m writing this, not to judge, but maybe to grant you permission to follow that little whisper of conviction from God. Because when another Christian takes a baby step, it might just be the encouragement you need to hoist yourself up and take a step for yourself.

I don’t want to feel another conviction from God and cringe because I’m not ready for the sacrifice. I want to celebrate convictions from God, because when I obey them, I am granting him permission to mold me into his likeness. Ignoring his voice ignores our issues and slowly and casually creates a callous around our hearts. But following conviction allows the release of his glorious light into the world.

So I cut out a TV show. I’d gotten those little nudges of conviction off and on for some time now but justified it with plenty of excuses. And honestly, I wasn’t sold out on the idea. But I want to trust God that he is so much more than my precious sitcom. I’ve found that by the actions of other followers of Jesus, my wrong actions are justified and my right actions are solidified. We will always be influenced by others. So I’m going to strive to surround myself with godly people who will support me in obeying the whispers.

“…that you may be blameless and innocent, children of God without blemish in the midst of a crooked and twisted generation, among whom you shine as lights in the world”

Philippians 2:15

Back to home page